The Chicago Blackhawks win the Stanley Cup amid a Bruins collapse in the third period and a look forward to the off-season and the transition of the site of other coverage


Chicago Blackhawks celebrate the Stanley Cup Championship win after game six in Boston. Credit to Bruce Bennett of Getty Images.

 

First off as a Boston Bruins fan I want to extend my congratulations to the Chicago Blackhawks, they did a great job in this series and deserve to win the Stanley Cup even if it was hard to watch the Bruins give up a lead in the final 80 seconds of game six when it looked like a game seven was all but certain so the disappointment that came over me and I am sure a lot of other Bruins fans was felt and it hit hard. But it is time to move on and I want to do this by first saying that.

But now lets just take a look at the series, because this part that makes it easier to handle losing the series. Not once did I feel that the Blackhawks did anything cheaply, it was different from what the Canucks did in 2011 when they were flopping a lot and just really wanted the Stanley Cup handed to them by the NHL. But in this series there was no diving, no whining to the referees, and really nothing to dislike about the way the Blackhawks played this series. The blackhawks did it straight up and for that part I gained respect for them, a lot more than when the Canucks were playing the Bruins in 2011. So if you’re a true hockey fan, you love the fact that Chicago played straight up hockey and they deserve that recognition as a world class team. There was a reason that the Blackhawks lost just 7 games in regulation during the 48 game season and the playoffs and more so in the finals they showed why.

Let me talk about the game a little bit because I felt like the Bruins came out flying in the first period, Boston outshot Chicago is 12-6 in the first period but missed on several shots and scoring opportunities. Which to me as a Bruins fan stuck out as the main reason they lost this game because they failed to convert on their chances. It felt like they spent all their energy on the first period and that is part of the reason that the Bruins only mustered just 13 shots the rest of the game.

Now on to the Bruins collapse late in game six because I feel that the Bruins missed assignments on the back check on both of Chicago’s last two goals which lead them to eventually lose. So in essence I blame the Bruins more in terms of those last two goals, than I credit the Blackhawks for the two goals. That is not to say the Blackhawks don’t deserve credit on either goal, but I feel like those two goals were more a product of soft back checking than it was talent on Chicago’s side which by no means discredits them they got to the dirty areas and popped that puck into the net.

One thing I said in my preview piece that I fully admit that I was wrong about is Chicago’s defense not being as good as Boston’s. I have to say this much, they were better than I expected them to be, and I am amazed that they were better in this series. And it was thanks to a lot of great plays by Duncan Keith who to me deserved the Conn Smythe trophy, he was insanely good in the Stanley Cup Finals, he made a lot of great plays for Chicago.

So that is my bit on game six and the finals for this blog, once I can focus more on the series, which was by the way a great series, I will probably go back and add more later on this week. 

And in case you are wondering I will post some more hockey stuff soon, especially in terms of looking at the off-season which is going to be interesting, in fact it already has been with some of the coaching moves being made including today’s news that John Tortorella being hired by the Vancouver Canucks, Ilya Bryzgalov being part of the Flyers compliance buy-out options, the other one being Daniel Briere last week. So those stories along with Lindy Ruff and Alain Vigneault finding jobs in Dallas and New York (Rangers) respectively.

So it has been an interesting post-season and already an interesting off-season to this point and I need a couple days of a hockey break but there will be more hockey during the off-season and I’ll probably transition a little bit into baseball because I typically do during the summer months since nothing else is on except for soccer which is a sport I don’t care for, and also lacrosse which is a sport I kind of like to watch from time to time if it is on TV but I don’t follow it nearly as well as other sports including baseball and basketball and even those sports are ones I don’t die for unlike hockey and football which will be coming up in late August for the college season and early to mid September for the NFL.

Of course there will be a lot of video games as well especially since this is the best line up of games coming out in a long time, with Saints Row IV, Grand Theft Auto V, Madden 25, Tom Clancy’s Splinter Cell Blacklist, and The Bureau: XCOM Declassified all coming out before the end of September, so the next three months will be crazy which leads us into an even crazier of the year with the expected release of both next generation consoles, and great games such as Watch_Dogs, Assassins Creed IV: Black Flag, NBA Live 14 NBA 2k14, and Need for Speed Rivals.

So my job here is far from done, but for hockey, it is going on the back burner for a little bit so we can focus and catch up on video games and other sports going on. Plus the first review of the site will be up this week as well, looking like a Thursday or Friday time frame since The Last of Us deserves to be finished and I have yet to finish it though I am getting close. So we’ll have that up soon.

Here is to moving forward Bruins fans, it will be just another four short months before the hockey is back on the ice once again, and this time there was be no bogus lock-outs getting in the way which is a thing most hockey fans will rejoice about especially after the debacle of the NHL lock out that shortened the 2012-2013 season.

Posted on June 25, 2013, in All Sports, Hockey, National Hockey League and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

